xamdp's blog

Skillset

November 8, 2023

I am kinda confused on where should I set my focus on. Should it be programming in C? or should I just continue broadening my existing knowledge in networks and systems? I am currently learning C and I am actually happy on my ongoing journey. Crafting Interpreters and Build your own Lisp are my go to resource in terms of learning C. I am now near at the end of the Part 2 of CI. I saw a comment in r/ProgrammingLanguages one of them told that it would be better if I started out first with buildyourownlisp and then CI. But, I started first with Crafting Interpreters using java, now, that I am about to end the part 2 of the book.

I was thinking that maybe I should go next to Buildyourownlisp for it is more fast paced and can be finished in a weekend or so. Currently, I'm in Chapter 9 of the book. And, I can say that by doing this approach will get me comfortable enough to deep dive in the Part 3 of the Crafting Interpreters which focuses more on creating a c implementation of Lox toy language interpreter.


July 11, 2024

Updates, I have finished the Part 2 of Crafting Interpreters which is the Java section. Unfortunately, I've accidentally deleted the directory where my code base for java lives.

I decided to continue on to the Part 3 which focuses on creating a compiler like in C from scratch. At first I just randomly follow the author based on what is needed to do. I've encountered a lot of concepts that fuels my curiosity to learn more of it.

Though, I haven't finished yet reading Crafting Interpreters. I have taken some break on C, but I will get back on it when I had my free time.

Right now, I am pursuing other technology stack that aligns in my current course/program. I am trying to adapt the DevOps mindset. Currently, I am learning about Docker, Kubernetes, and other monitoring tools. I've also did some practice and explorations with GitLab CI/CD.